Mixing witty, often hilarious, occasionally even heartbreaking observations with devastating self-assessment, Courtney Barnett’s debut album, Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit, cements her standing as one of the most distinctive and compelling voices in indie rock. These songs reveal not only an assured songwriter and guitar player, but also an artist who in just a few years has already proved highly influential.

Her songs may not sound tightly coiled, but they are carefully and exactingly structured. Her lyrics may ramble, but each word is carefully chosen. She is, however, no perfectionist. In fact, she may be an imperfectionist: Barnett strives to fine-tune her songs as much as possible, but she knows that their flaws—a missed note here, a flubbed line there—can make the music sound more human, more relatable, more sympathetic.

“My songs follow me as a normal human with normal emotions,” she explains, “so there are great highs and great lows. They span everything in my life.”

Barnett and her band—which includes Dan Luscombe on guitar and the surprisingly nimble rhythm section of Bones Sloane on bass and Dave Mudie on drums—recorded the album at Head Gap Studio in Melbourne during the fall of 2014.

“We’d start midday and work until quite early in the morning,” she says. “Of course, half the time is sitting around waiting for the engineer to get a mic into place or something like that.”

The band used the downtime to take these songs apart and put them back together again. Nothing was taken on faith; every note and every word was parsed.

Now that these songs are on record, she will not stop tweaking and perfecting them. The more she lives with them—the more she plays them out, the more fans react to them—the more alive they sound to her, often disclosing new meanings and direr implications.

“They keep revealing themselves,” she says. “They change from touring and recording. They morph and change form and can end up sounding completely different. I hope it’s like that forever.”




Tour Dates

  • Denver, CO, US - Ogden Theatre

    Sat 29th September 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Phoenix, AZ, US - The Van Buren

    Tue 02nd October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • San Diego, CA, US - The Observatory North Park

    Wed 03rd October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Los Angeles, CA, US - Greek Theatre

    Fri 05th October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Seattle, WA, US - Paramount Theatre

    Mon 08th October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Vancouver, BC, Canada - Vogue Theatre

    Wed 10th October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Portland, OR, US - McMenamin's Crystal Ballroom

    Fri 12th October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Milwaukee, WI, US - Pabst Theatre

    Wed 17th October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Boston, MA, US - House of Blues

    Sun 21st October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Philadelphia, PA, US - Fillmore Philadelphia

    Tue 23rd October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Nashville, TN, US - Marathon Music Works

    Thu 25th October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Austin, TX, US - Stubb's Waller Creek Amphitheater

    Sat 27th October 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Berlin, Germany - Huxleys Neue Welt

    Thu 01st November 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Stockholm, Sweden - Kägelbanan

    Sat 03rd November 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Copenhagen, Denmark - Vega

    Sun 04th November 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Oslo, Norway - Rockefeller Music Hall

    Mon 05th November 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Paris, France - Casino De Paris

    Wed 07th November 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Wiesbaden, Germany - Schlachthof

    Fri 09th November 2018 - Buy tickets

  • -

    Mon 12th November 2018 - Buy tickets


News