Mixing witty, often hilarious, occasionally even heartbreaking observations with devastating self-assessment, Courtney Barnett’s debut album, Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit, cements her standing as one of the most distinctive and compelling voices in indie rock. These songs reveal not only an assured songwriter and guitar player, but also an artist who in just a few years has already proved highly influential.

Her songs may not sound tightly coiled, but they are carefully and exactingly structured. Her lyrics may ramble, but each word is carefully chosen. She is, however, no perfectionist. In fact, she may be an imperfectionist: Barnett strives to fine-tune her songs as much as possible, but she knows that their flaws—a missed note here, a flubbed line there—can make the music sound more human, more relatable, more sympathetic.

“My songs follow me as a normal human with normal emotions,” she explains, “so there are great highs and great lows. They span everything in my life.”

Barnett and her band—which includes Dan Luscombe on guitar and the surprisingly nimble rhythm section of Bones Sloane on bass and Dave Mudie on drums—recorded the album at Head Gap Studio in Melbourne during the fall of 2014.

“We’d start midday and work until quite early in the morning,” she says. “Of course, half the time is sitting around waiting for the engineer to get a mic into place or something like that.”

The band used the downtime to take these songs apart and put them back together again. Nothing was taken on faith; every note and every word was parsed.

Now that these songs are on record, she will not stop tweaking and perfecting them. The more she lives with them—the more she plays them out, the more fans react to them—the more alive they sound to her, often disclosing new meanings and direr implications.

“They keep revealing themselves,” she says. “They change from touring and recording. They morph and change form and can end up sounding completely different. I hope it’s like that forever.”

Tour Dates

  • Fort Worth, TX, US - Fortress 2018, Cultural District

    Sat 28th April 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Atlanta, GA, US - Shaky Knees Festival 2018

    Fri 04th May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • San Francisco, CA, US - August Hall

    Sun 06th May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Los Angeles, CA, US - The Sanctuary at Pico-union

    Thu 10th May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Austin, TX, US - Saengerrunde Hall

    Mon 14th May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Philadelphia, PA, US - Union Transfer

    Wed 16th May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Brooklyn, NY, US - Music Hall of Williamsburg

    Sat 19th May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Chicago, IL, US - Preston Bradley Hall, Chicago Cultural Center

    Mon 21st May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Belfast, UK - The Biggest Weekend, Titanic Slipways

    Fri 25th May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Leeds, UK - O2 Academy Leeds

    Tue 29th May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Brussels, Belgium - Ancienne Belgique (AB)

    Wed 30th May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Utrecht, Netherlands - TivoliVredenburg

    Thu 31st May 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Glasgow, UK - Barrowland Ballroom

    Sat 02nd June 2018 - Buy tickets

  • London, UK - All Points East, Victoria Park

    Sun 03rd June 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Manchester, UK - Manchester Academy

    Mon 04th June 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Bristol, UK - O2 Academy Bristol

    Tue 05th June 2018 - Buy tickets

  • London, UK - Roundhouse

    Wed 06th June 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Paris, France - Le Bataclan

    Sat 09th June 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Luxembourg, Luxembourg - Den Atelier

    Sun 10th June 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Berlin, Germany - Astra Kulturhaus

    Mon 11th June 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Cologne, Germany - Live Music Hall

    Wed 13th June 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Toronto, ON, Canada - Danforth Music Hall

    Tue 10th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Ottawa, ON, Canada - Ottawa Blues Festival

    Wed 11th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • North Adams, MA, US - Mass MoCA

    Thu 12th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Louisville, KY, US - Forecastle Music Festival 2018

    Fri 13th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Columbus, OH, US - Newport Music Hall

    Sat 14th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • St Louis, MO, US - The Pageant

    Tue 17th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Kansas City, MO, US - The Truman

    Wed 18th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Minneapolis, MN, US - Surly Brewing Festival Field

    Sat 21st July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Washington, DC, US - The Anthem

    Tue 24th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Brooklyn, NY, US - Celebrate Brooklyn! - Prospect Park

    Wed 25th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • Rhode Island, United States - Newport Folk Festival, Newport

    Sat 28th July 2018 - Buy tickets

  • -

    Thu 22nd March 2018 - Buy tickets